Home > Uncategorized > Being Over Prepared Is GOOD.

Being Over Prepared Is GOOD.

I can remember how much I used to stress during the summer about how I needed to be in top condition when 2-a-day practices started.

If you played football, I’m sure you can relate.  That is if you actually gave a sh*t…

Some guys on my team in college came into 2-a-day camp way out of shape.

It was like they didn’t even set foot on a football field.

They were slow and sloppy.

Pissed me off!

I wanted to win championships!

The summer time was the time to do it and make it happen!

For me, 2-a-day’s  was a way to show off just how freaking hard I was working during the summer.

It was my time to MAKE A STATEMENT!

I’ll never forget the time when I was a freshman, I was coming into college football for the first time ever!

I was so freaking nervous I was working my butt off double time during the summer.

I had NO idea what to expect.

All I knew was I needed to be prepared, if anything OVER-prepared!

I ran sprints like it was my day job!

I did gasers til I dropped!   Ran hills until the sun went down.

Sometimes I would purposely go out on the hottest day and run hills without bringing water with me.

It was sort of my way to punish myself I used to think.

I used to say to myself – I must run these hills without any water.  That way when it comes down to being in a game and its crunch time, I would be OVER PREPARED and READY!

I used to do all sorts of things like that.

I would bring a stop watch and time myself to see how fast I could get up the hill.  I would have “mini challenges” against myself making me beat my time every week.

If I ran a slower time, I would do more hills until I beat my best time.

I would get so frustrated sometimes I couldn’t beat my time.

I remember there were marks in the grass where I used to start because I would dig my feet into the ground so much that it just wore away and there was only dirt there.

I would start from that point in a 3 point stance and sprint up the hill until I passed a sprinkler head in the ground.

Those were my markers.

Oh those times were great!

I can surely attest that running those hills each week, helped increase my speed immensely!   NO DOUBT about that!

the bottom line was I didn’t want to leave ANYTHING left to chance.

I wanted to show up to 2-a-day practices in the BEST DAMN SHAPE EVER!

My freshman year, the Seniors kind of got mad at me as I was running my sprints too fast.

We had to run 16 80 yard sprints in splits of 18 secs.

I was running mine in 10 secs.

They were getting pissed because I was “making everyone look bad”…

It’s not my fault I came in over prepared!

Being over prepared is GOOD!

Live Aggressive and Get Strong!

Travis


PS – Thanks for the emails and comments!!!

Keep them coming!

For questions – email me at theforgedathlete@gmail.com


Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Grady
    August 2, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    Travis,

    Your blog has made me want to push myself harder everyday. Unfortunately, I am limited on equipment and funds. I have a 50# and a 35# kettlebell, 50# punching bag, jump rope, and a 200# tire.

    I live in Sacramento, CA. and it would be a little difficult to join your gym. Any ideas you might have for workouts with what I have would be appreciated. I’m in a the band Will Haven. Check us out on myspace for some tunes to workout to.

    Thanks,
    Grady

    • August 2, 2010 at 10:09 pm

      Bro, thanks a ton!

      I’ve got some really good stuff in the making as we speak!

      Should have it out soon!

      In the meantime, just keep up on my posts…

      Thanks for following bruddah!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

